Awards in Early Childhood Education

  • Sally Moomaw and co-author Guy Jones received the Myers Outstanding Book Award, presented by the Gustavus Myers Center for the Study of Bigotry and Human Rights in North America, on December 11, 2003, for their book Lessons from Turtle Island: Native Curriculum in Early Childhood Classrooms.
  • In 2000, the Arlitt Child and Family Research and Education Center received a Friends of Education award from the Ohio Department of Education for the work of Brenda Hieronymus, Vicki Carr, and Mary Ann McPherson on the Literacy User's Manual for the Galileo software system.
  • In 1999, Arlitt preschool teacher Brenda Hieronymus was named the Teacher of the Year by the Ohio Association for the Education of Young Children.
  • In 1997, two early childhood education teachers at the Arlitt Center, Brenda Hieronymus and Sally Moomaw, were awarded the Ohio Senate Honor for Excellence in Child Care.
  • The Inclusion Network of Cincinnati, Ohio gave Arlitt a Recognition Award in 1996 for success in including preschool children with disabilities in all classrooms in the center.
  • The Arlitt Center was one of 13 model programs selected as an exemplary early childhood education program by the Statewide Preschool Special Education Service Delivery Project that is funded by the Ohio Department of Education.
  • Arlitt received the BEST Award from the State of Ohio in 1995 for being one of the top schools in the state, preschool through grade twelve.
  • In 1993, the Arlitt Child and Family Research and Education Center was awarded the Irene Bandy-Hedden Early Childhood Award by the Ohio Department of Education for promoting early childhood education programs.