Why study Public Health?

Students who choose to complete a public health minor increase their awareness of emerging issues in public health, the social and behavioral aspects of preventing disease, environmental health concepts, the changing U.S. health care system and the monitoring of diseases in the community. Students from a wide variety of majors will find a Public Health minor attractive as it provides them with a basic understanding of each of the core areas of public health, introduces students to career opportunities and prepares students for admission to graduate programs in public health and other health-related programs. Students are able to select from a diverse offering of electives, both online and in the classroom, across multiple colleges as a part of the minor. The degree can be completed online, in-person or a combination of both.

Current baccalaureate majors can request to declare the minor by clicking here.

Admission Requirements

Enrollment in the minor is restricted to current UC bachelor's degree seeking students from any major. Students can request to declare the minor by clicking here.

The Public Health minor is ideal for students who are in a baccalaureate or associate degree program in a health-related field, but may also appeal to students in other colleges who have an interest in public health, such as pre-law, urban planning, criminal justice, education, and landscape design, as well as others. By adding a public health minor, students increase their awareness of emerging issues in public health.  

The minor will introduce students to career opportunities and prepare students for admission to graduate programs in public health and other health-related programs.

The minor is a collaborative effort spanning six colleges. The College of Medicine will certify completion of the minor to award the program upon graduation. Students can complete coursework across the following partner colleges: College of Allied Health Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences, the College of Education, Criminal Justice, and Human Services, College of Nursing, College of Medicine, and the College of Pharmacy. 

For additional information about the minor, contact Shawn Adkins, College of Medicine Undergraduate Program Educational Specialist, at shawn.adkins@uc.edu or (513) 558-9897.  You can also reach out to the college liaison for the Public Health minor.  

College of Allied Health Sciences – Charity Accurso, charity.accurso@uc.edu, (513) 558-7493 College of Arts and Sciences – Allison Logan, loganan@ucmail.uc.edu, (513) 556-5860 College of Education, Criminal Justice, and Human Services - Regan Johnson, regan.johnson@uc.edu, (513) 556-6743  College of Nursing – Rebecca Lee, rebecca.lee@uc.edu, (513) 558-5498 College of Medicine – Rachael Nolan, rachael.nolan@uc.edu, (513) 558-9897  College of Pharmacy – Bradley Hein, heinbe@ucmail.uc.edu, (513) 558-4702 UC Blue Ash – Heather Vilvens, heather.vilvens@uc.edu, (513) 936-1633

The University of Cincinnati and all regional campuses are accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

Contact Information

Shawn Adkins
Medical Sciences Building E168C
Cincinnati, OH 45267-0552
(513) 558-9897
shawn.adkins@uc.edu

Find related programs in the following interest areas:

Program Code: 26MIN-PH-MIN