Criminal Justice Grad Transitions Seamlessly From Campus to Foster Care Advocate Upon Graduation

This past April, Krissie Casler graduated from the University of Cincinnati with her Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice. We recently re-connected with her to get an update on her transition from UC graduate to case worker at the Kentucky Intensive Family Services in Northern Kentucky.

Q:  What have you been doing since graduation?

A:  As a case manager for a private foster care agency, I develop treatment and supervision plans for children and foster parents. The Kentucky Intensive Family Services agency often works closely with referrals from the state of Kentucky regarding low-risk children between the ages of ten and 18.  Placement can sometimes be difficult because most people want to foster or adopt babies, not teenagers. However, just a few weeks ago, I was able to help a family adopt two sisters that are eight and 17 years old. My job is exciting and very gratifying, and I love the families with whom I work.

Q: What are some of your favorite memories about CECH and the Criminal Justice program?

A:  I loved attending “#the Hottest College in America.” And for being such a large college, CECH has a great sense of community. The Criminal Justice program has so many excellent opportunities and hands-on programs. I like how the excellent student-to-teacher ratio allows for greater interaction and discussion within the classroom. The faculty members have diverse and extensive career experiences, which are extremely beneficial to students. There are so many ways to get involved. I really enjoyed being both secretary and president of the Criminal Justice Society during my time at UC.

Q:  In what ways did CECH prepare you for the working world and your current position?

A:  I was very excited to be employed full-time immediately upon graduation. As a CJ student, each student is required to do a six month internship and work 112 hours in the field. During my internship, I worked for Judge Wyler in the Clermont County juvenile probation court system. I learned so much from observing her interactions with children. She taught me a lot about respect and how you can accomplish a lot when everyone works together on the same level. I gained a lot of experience with in-home visits.  I am still learning how to adjust to the paperwork requirements, but I have been very prepared for the “on the job training” and independence this position affords me.

Q:  What are your future plans?

A:  Ideally, I hope to return to UC within the next two years to continue my education. I want to enroll in a Master’s program because of the versatility of that degree, and I would like to become a Mental Health Counselor.