Criminal Justice Alumnus, Robert Rouleau, Now a Correctional Counselor with the Federal Bureau of Prisons

Robert Rouleau
  • What degrees or training do you have?  From what schools?  Major at UC?

I received my Bachelors of Science in Geography from Penn State University in 2005 and minored in Sociology I attended UC to earn my Masters in Criminal Justice. I graduated from that program in 2010.

  • How did you become interested in your field?

I would say that I first became interested in Criminal Justice while on deployment in Mosul, Iraq in 2005-06.

  • What do you enjoy most about your current career?

Opportunities.  The Federal Bureau of Prisons allows a person myriad of opportunities:  advancement, travel, training, specialties, etc. As a Correctional Counselor with the Federal Bureau of Prisons, I have enjoyed the opportunity to mold work with offenders as they prepare for re-entry into society.  When I was still an officer I dealt more with the punitive side:  issuing incident reports and enforcing regulation and policies.

  • What have been the biggest challenges in your career? Did your experiences at CECH help you overcome obstacles you've faced as a professional?

The biggest challenge of my young career has to be dealing with female offenders.  It has been a very unique experience.  Luckily, UC provided me with courses that offer insight into these types of situations so that I can better understand and handle difficult situations. I had a basis of knowledge going into my career to help with my daily interaction.

  • In what ways has your UC/CECH experience had an impact on your career and who you are today? 

The education that I received at UC gave me a foundation that I am now able to build on year by year in my career.  Dr. Edward Latessa was great.  Throughout my time in the program, and after I took my position out here, he was always quick to respond whenever I had a question.  It really makes a student feel like they are a part of the UC family.

  • What advice would you give to younger alumni or current students who aspire to follow a similar career path?

Network.  Take the opportunity to attend seminars while at UC Also seek out career fairs, internships, etc.  It will only help you later in your career. 

  • What do you consider to be your greatest accomplishments (both personally and professionally)?

Personally, I’ve completed marathons and triathlons, been award the Bronze Star, but my greatest accomplishment is my family.  They support me in so many ways.  I wouldn’t have been able to do anything without them. Professionally, the biggest accomplishment that I would like to share is my selection as a Disturbance Control Team Leader.  I feel that being selected is a reflection of my professionalism and work ethic.

  • What are you future plans? 

My future plans are to work my way up to Unit Manager over the next five years and set myself up to be Assistant Warden.

  • What would you say to a prospective student considering UC?

Go for it.  UC is a great place to receive an education.  You will love the campus life and the connections that will last a lifetime.  Several times a year my family gets together with other UC Alumni for events: football games, basketball, and even spring training baseball.  UC is a big family.